How To Get A Permit
We make getting a permit easy for bartenders and servers...
The Tennessee Alcohol Beverage Commission (TABC) has regulations
concerning who can serve alcoholic beverages in the state
of Tennessee. In order to serve alcoholic beverages you must
meet the following criteria:
- You have not been convicted of a felony within the previous
- You have not been convicted of any crime relating to the
sale of alcoholic beverages, beer, schedules 1 or 2 controlled
substances or any sex-related crime or embezzlement within
the previous eight years.
- You have not had an employee or server permit or similar
permit issued in a foreign jurisdiction revoked within the
past five years.
- You have not had any ownership interest in any establishment
which has had its license or permit revoked within the previous
- Within one year prior to the submission of the application
you must have successfully completed a program of alcohol
awareness training approved by the TABC.
- You must have attained your eighteenth birthday.
If you have met all of the requirements listed above, the
TABC requires that you have a valid TABC permit in your establishment
or on your person as follows:
- New Employees: within 61 days of your
- Promoted Employees: within 61 days of
changing your job status to an alcohol serving position.
- Employees With Current TABC Server Permits:
before your card expires.
Managers who also own 5% or more of a business are exempt.
In order to receive a permit, you must attend a TABC approved
Alcohol Awareness Class that includes a minimum of 5 hours
Classes are scheduled on various days, times, and locations.
Just attending a class does not allow you to legally serve.
You must have a copy of the TABC Server Permit, issued by
the Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission, in your establishment,
and you must have a copy with you while you are working. Our
classes serve you better for the following reasons:
- We grade tests on site, allowing a fast turnaround time
between the class date and the date you receive your permit.
- We turn in your application to the TABC and we pick up
your permit, saving you the trip to the TABC office.
- We fax a copy of the permit to your manager within days
of the class, and send a better copy by mail. The TABC will
accept a copy of the permit, so you can work legally as
soon as your manager receives the fax.
- We mail your original permit to your home for your records
and a laminated copy to carry with you while you are working.
- We keep a copy on file, just in case a permit is lost.
There are very few trainers that do all of this for
Handling server permit issues is all we do.